Birds of Yellowstone – May 2014


Among the avian creatures, perching birds happen to be my favorites. They are tiny, cute, colorful and present almost everywhere. I get fascinated and amused looking at birds as they perch, ruffle their feathers, flip their wings, chirp or sing. Knowing their names is a pastime I indulge in every now and then and doing it takes me a little closer to their world.

It was no surprise then that I clicked loads of pictures of the winged beauties in my trip to Yellowstone National Park in the summer of 2014. To be honest, this was a very rushed trip. Moreover,  I spent most of the time in the car, looping around the park for two days. So I didn’t see as much bird life as one would have expected. Still, whatever little I saw, gave me a good enough glimpse and I can’t wait for another trip to the YNP.

The park, a heaven for the wild flora and fauna, was a treat to the eyes in many respects.  Just before starting my exploration on the first day of the trip, our hotel was visited by a brewer’s blackbird and a black-billed magpie. That day, as I explored the area around Mammoth Springs, walking on the boardwalk connecting several hot springs in the area, I repeatedly passed by five birds: Mountain blue bird – male and female, chipping sparrow, yellow-rumped warbler, killdeer and violet green swallow. During the later part of the day when I was going around the upper and lower loop of the park, I saw many more birds but sadly, I couldn’t photograph them. So what follows ahead is a series of pictures that I was able to capture in my hurried trip in the park. Although this first trip was full of amazing sights, a more elaborate trip is very much in the bucket list.

 

mountain blue bird male
mountain blue bird male
Mountain bluebird male
Mountain bluebird male

mountain bluebird female
mountain bluebird female
mountain blue birds- male-female
mountain blue birds- male-female
violet green swallow
violet green swallow
yellow rumped warbler
yellow rumped warbler
yellow rumped warbler
yellow rumped warbler
yellow rumped warbler
yellow rumped warbler
yellow rumped warbler
yellow rumped warbler
killdeer
killdeer with two baby killdeer
killdeer
killdeer female
killdeer - female
killdeer – female
Chipping sparrow
Chipping sparrow
Brewer's blackbird
Brewer’s blackbird
Black-billed magpie
Black-billed magpie

The next day, I enjoyed watching a golden eagle in flight as well as an Osprey eagle nest and yes, Mr. and Mrs. Osprey were home too! While returning from Lamar valley to our hotel, we stopped by a bird feeder. Finches, woodpeckers, dark eyed juncos  and a sterling jay were picking on the bird food in the feeder and this gave me a very good chance to click some pictures. This was going to be my last day in YNP and happy but unsatisfied, I returned home with the intention of going back again sometime soon.

golden eagle
golden eagle
golden eagle
golden eagle
Cassin's finch
Cassin’s finch
Cassin's finch
Cassin’s finch
Cassin's finch
Cassin’s finch
house finch
house finch
house finch
house finch
house finch
house finch
Hairy woodpecker female
Hairy woodpecker female
Hairy woodpecker female
Hairy woodpecker female
Dark eyed junco
Dark eyed junco
ID?
ID?
3 thoughts on “Birds of Yellowstone – May 2014

Leave a Reply

